Attention Log

This weeks lessons are about being mindful. One of the tasks at hand was to make an attention log of technological observations. I spend a lot of time on technology. It may be homework, social media, wedding planning, or face timing that I am doing but it usually ends up being about 90% of my day.

I made an attention log observing myself during my time doing these tasks. I found that I was often easily distracted, easily overwhelmed, and so exhausted of technology. Part of this is because I have 5 online classes, this requires so much online time. I found that I spend a lot of my life so zoned into technology I really do not know what is going on around me.

Below is the attention log that I have made, the next time you are spending time online, try to observe yourself! I learned from my observations that I need to relax, take a step back, and pause when I get overwhelmed.

Session one:
1. Date: October 15, 201
2. Description of Physical Space and Device: At my house on the couch scrolling social media on my iPhone
3. Duration of session: 45 minutes
4. What occurred: I was very distracted from what was going on around me, my fiancé left for the week a few hours later for work training in Rawlins Wyoming and I paid no attention to him, only to regret it later.
5. What you did: I jumped back and forth from app to app, Instagram, facebook, pinterest, and email.
6. How you felt: Distracted and completely zoned into my phone
7. What worked: I do not really know “what worked” all the technologies and apps worked fine.
8. What did not work: My attention was not on what really mattered.
9. Other comments: My loving fiancé, and dogs were there present, but not in my mind, I was completely distracted by the social media, I do not like this

2. Session two:
1. Date: Monday morning October 16, 2016
2. Description of Physical Space and Device: In my small office at work and on my laptop
3. Duration of session: two hours
4. What occurred: Homework
5. What you did: Working on my multimedia class, I completed a discussion forum about different tips and websites that I could find that aid in the use of excel.
6. How you felt: Stressed out about whether or not I was doing it right or wrong.
7. What worked: Finding sources online
8. What did not work: I tried to do things too long without taking a break and got kind of drained and ended up distracted by other classes and checking other things because I focused on one specific thing too long without giving myself a break.
9. Other comments: Mondays are the days that I spend from 7am to usually 7 pm doing straight homework and need to learn when to give myself a 10 minute break.

3. Session 3:
1. Date: Monday Evening October 16 2016
2. Description of Physical Space and Device: At my dining room table doing homework
3. Duration of session: 4 hours
4. What occurred: lots of research for a computer comparison project, some tweeting, and some other research for classes
5. What you did: Used google, took notes, watched videos, answered questions, saved documents, wrote deadlines down in my planner.
6. How you felt: Stressed and in tears
7. What worked: I got large portions of assignments done
8. What did not work: too much to do, too much stress, and too long staring at a computer
9. Other comments: Mondays are the days that I spend from 7am to usually 7 pm doing straight homework, and today I did it even longer and need to learn when to give myself a 10 minute break.

4. Session 4
1. Date: Late Monday Evening October 16 2016
2. Description of Physical Space and Device: In my bedroom laying down on my bed
3. Duration of session: 45 minutes
4. What occurred: Face timing Denum
5. What you did: Laid on my bed and face timed Denum, as you all learned he is in Rawlins for the week.
6. How you felt: Emotionally and physically drained, along with emotional and uncomfortable.
7. What worked: Laying and relaxing and just talking worked to wind me down after a long tedious day.
8. What did not work: Him being 4 hours away does not work, and facetime is not the same as presence…. I can’t wait for Friday!
9. Other comments: After reading my entries, I was online for well over 12 hours, it was a long day and now I have to clear my mind and get positive and ready to do the same exact thing tomorrow.

5. Session 5:
1. Date: October 18 2016
2. Description of Physical Space and Device: My desk at work
3. Duration of session: One hour
4. What occurred: Streaming social media sites
5. What you did: Sat at the desk zoned into my phone while I was supposed to be participating in a morning work meeting
6. How you felt: distracted and stressed for all of the homework that the day is going to bring but ready to conquer it anyways
7. What worked: Putting my phone down, upside down, and listening to my coworkers once I realized how inattentive I was.
8. What did not work: Multi-tasking did not work, looking at my phone and listening to a meeting is something I should not be doing
9. Other comments.

6. Session six:
1. Date: October 18 2016
2. Description of Physical Space and Device: In my office doing homework on my laptop
3. Duration of session: 3.5 hours
4. What occurred: Taking a psychology test
5. What you did: Watched an hour long video, listened to an audio, and did some research and took an untimed test.
6. How you felt: Overwhelmed by all of the material covered on the test
7. What worked: Reading the test questions and re watching and re reading the content a second time
8. What did not work: Trying to take the test from one time of reviewing content
9. Other comments.

7. Session seven:
1. Date: October 19, 2016
2. Description of Physical Space and Device: In my office on my laptop doing homework
3. Duration of session: 45 minutes
4. What occurred: Watching a TED talk
5. What you did: Watched the TED talk on quitting internet for the year
6. How you felt: Interested and engaged
7. What worked: Watching it and talking notes
8. What did not work: Having my phone on the desk as well because text messages distracted me from staying engaged in the video.
9. Other comments.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Attention Log

  1. Wow this is really interesting!! I have never thought about logging everything I do during a class to see what I am distracted by. This can also help me make changes to become a better student. Great idea and thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

